Concert Preview: James McMurtry at Fitzgerald’s

Austin-based singer-songwriter James McMurtry will be rolling into Chicago to play Fitzgerald’s tomorrow July 9th. Yes, you can expect the same storytelling magic that was captured on Live In Europe.  But will McMurtry “measure up to Mannish Boy” and give fans the inspiring insight they’re looking for?

I’ve been enjoying the blues and folk mash-up of grit, grooves and palpable energy as I traveled through the tracks from Live in Europe . The album/DVD combo documents McMurtry’s first European tour and it’s a solid set of live recordings that capture McMurtry with keyboardist Ian McLagan and fellow Texas songwriting legend Jon Dee Graham as they toured through Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, The Netherlands, Scotland and Belgium in early 2009.

Live In Europe was released in October 2009 and marks the first time fans will be able to purchase video footage of McMurtry live in concert.

That said, fans who experience McMurtry live during his current 2010 tour and watch Live In Europe will most likely gain valuable insight into how McMurtry measures up to Mannish Boy.

And if you’ve seen McMurtry live before or you see his show tomorrow at Fitzgerald’s, I’d love to hear your thoughts about how you think McMurtry uses the live show energy to inspire his studio recordings, or vice versa.

Concert Info

James McMurtry
Friday
July 9 at 9 p.m.
FitzGerald’s
Tickets $20

Tour Dates:

Fri., July 2, 9 p.m. AUSTIN, TX Threadgill’s
Sat., July 3, 1 p.m. FULTON, TX City Park
Thurs., July 8, 8 p.m. CHAMPAIGN, IL High Dive*
Fri., July 9, 9 p.m. BERWYN, IL Fitzgerald’s*
Sat., July 10, 9:15 p.m. FERNDALE, MI The Magic Bag*
Sun., July 11, 8 p.m. CLEVELAND, OH Beachland Ballroom*
Wed., July 14, 8 p.m. PITTSBURGH, PA Club Cafe*
Thurs., July 15, 8:30 p.m. BLACKSBURG, VA Attitude’s Bar & Café*
Fri., July 16. 9 p.m. GREENVILLE, SC The Handlebar*
Sat., July 17 MARYVILLE, TN The Shed at Smoky Mountain Harley-Davidson, with Leticia Wolf
Tues., July 20 LITTLE ROCK, AR Juanita’s Cantina Ballroom*
Thurs., July 22 AUSTIN, TX Shady Grove
Thurs., Aug. 12, 7:30 p.m. ALEXANDRIA, CA Birchmere, with Ray Wylie Hubbard
Sun., Aug. 29, noon LIVINGSTON, MT Paradise Valley Music Festival

Share and Enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • email
  • RSS
  • Google Buzz
  • Technorati
  • ThisNext